Practice Caution If Charged With Reckless Driving In Nevada
There are many consequences to reckless driving. Pleading guilty or no contest, or facing a conviction, will lead to an accumulation of demerit points on your Nevada license. After getting 12 demerit points within 12 months, you will face a license suspension. Just one reckless driving charge can result in eight demerit points.
We help Las Vegas area drivers keep their driving records clear from reckless driving charges. Attorney Steve Dimopoulos and the rest of the team at Dimopoulos Injury Law know what is at stake, which is why we work hard to mitigate the consequences of moving violations. If you received a ticket for speeding, driving recklessly, or other violations, we can provide the support you need.
What Counts as Reckless Driving?
Reckless driving is any behavior that is a threat to the safety and well-being of others. While you can get a ticket for driving over the posted speed limit, you could also face a reckless driving charge for excessive speeds. The following behaviors could lead to reckless driving charges:
- Street racing
- Fleeing from law enforcement
- Driving 25 miles per hour or more over the speed limit
- Passing another vehicle when it is not safe
Points on your record threaten your ability to drive, which, of course, can threaten your ability to get to work or pick your children up from school. There is a lot on the line, but there are ways you can protect yourself against unwarranted demerit points. We know it is critical to confront these charges appropriately, and we are committed to protecting your right to drive as well as your future interests.
Reckless Driving Punishment in Nevada
After each offense, the consequences are greater. According to code NRS 484b-653 sections 2-3(c),
- The first offense shall be a fine of more than $250 but not more than $1,000 or by both fine and prison in county jail for no more than six months.
- The second offense shall result in a fine of no less than $1,000 but not more than $1,500; or by both fine and prison in the county jail for no more than six months.
- The third and every other offense hereafter shall be punished by a fine of no less than $1,500 but no more than $2,000.
Anyone who is caught speed racing on a public highway or has organized a speed contest must also do community service hours and may be subject to imprisonment.
If reckless driving results in death due to the disregard of the safety of persons or property, it is considered a category B felony, and punishment is state prison for no less than a year and a maximum of six years with a fine of no less than $2,000 but not more than $5,000.
Sealing Reckless Driving Record
Sealing a record allows you to legally deny or fail to acknowledge any of your past criminal charges. You receive a fresh start. Sealing a criminal record is not the same as expunging your record, where your record is destroyed. A sealed criminal record still exists, but the public can’t view it. A court Judge must permit you to seal your record. Should you get a reckless driving charge on your record, it’s a good idea to contact a lawyer regarding sealing your record. Even more minor things like petty theft or a small misdemeanor charge will affect your ability to find a job.
We Will Fight For Your Interests
Our firm will fight for you after a charge of reckless driving. Not only will we work to turn your ticket into trash, but we will work to defend you against any criminal penalties you are facing as well.
You can schedule your free initial case evaluation with a lawyer by calling our office at 702-800-6000 or reaching out online for an appointment.